ALMINE RECH

2024 Inaugural Exhibition

Jun 29 — Oct 27, 2024 | The Campus, Hudson, NY, US

Bortolami, James Cohan, kaufmann repetto, Anton Kern, Andrew Kreps, and kurimanzutto are pleased to present the inaugural exhibition at their new shared space, The Campus, in Claverack, NY. Embracing a collaborative model, the galleries have turned an abandoned former school building into a platform for dynamic cultural exchange. Organized by Timo Kappeller, the inaugural exhibition will run from June 29 through October 27, 2024.

Vacant since the '90s, the 78,000-square-foot building of the Ockawamick School, built in 1951 and largely unrenovated, has been ripe for reanimation. Colorfully-painted classrooms, mid-century architectural details, and generous natural lighting create a compelling context for artists to engage with the space, the original purpose of the structure, and one another.

In recent years, a reconsideration of values has led many artists toward the long-established creative community of Upstate New York. The Campus embraces this environment of spirited exchange with a sweeping exhibition that fills 40 rooms and the surrounding grounds with artwork. Within each room, thoughtful groupings offer moments of focused dialogue amongst diverse voices from within and beyond the six gallery programs.

In the spirit of collaboration, The Campus is partnering with NXTHVN's Cohort 05 Studio and Curatorial Fellows. Founded by Titus Kaphar and Jason Price, NXTHVN's annual fellowship works to mentor and uplift underrepresented artists and curators. The exhibition will feature the work of Studio Fellows Adrian Armstrong, Alexandria Couch, Eric Hart Jr., Fidelis Joseph, Jamaal Peterman, Eugene Mackie, and Alex Puz, organized by Curatorial Fellows Marquita Flowers and Clare Patrick.

The inaugural exhibition connects new, historical, and site-specific works by over 80 artists.

Full artist list: Ricci Albenda, Leonor Antunes, Adrian Armstrong, Nairy Baghramian, Georg Baselitz, Robert Bordo, Andrea Bowers, Cecily Brown, Daniel Buren, Tom Burr, David Byrd, Miguel Calderón, Brian Calvin, Gianni Caravaggio, Talia Chetrit, Anne Collier, Alexandria Couch, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Jim Denomie, Francesca DiMattio, Thea Djordjadze, Nathalie du Pasquier, Shannon Ebner, Kevin Jerome Everson, Roe Ethridge, Bendt Eyckermans, Spencer Finch, William Forsythe, Lloyd Foster, Aaron Fowler, Roberto Gil de Montes, John Giorno, Renée Green, Petrit Halilaj, Anthea Hamilton, Trenton Doyle Hancock, Rachel Harrison, Eric Hart Jr., Maren Hassinger, Madeline Hollander, Jenny Holzer, Fidelis Joseph, Sanya Kantarovsky, Barbara Kasten, Annette Kelm, Caitlin Keogh, Jutta Koether, Ella Kruglyanskaya, Gabriel Kuri, Roy Lichtenstein, Richard Long, Eugene Macki, Goshka Macuga, Chris Martin, Josiah McElheny, Marta Minujín, Dianna Molzan, Rebecca Morris, Lee Mullican, Oscar Murillo, Eamon Ore-Giron, Gabriel Orozco, Virginia Overton, Philip Pearlstein, Manfred Pernice, Jamaal Peterman, Alex Puz, Marina Rheingantz, Bárbara Sánchez-Kane, Raymond Saunders, Shinichi Sawada, Lara Schnitger, Paul Mpagi Sepuya, Yinka Shonibare CBE, David Shrigley, Diane Simpson, Michael E. Smith, Joan Snyder, Cheyney Thompson, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Fred Tomaselli, Alice Trumbull-Mason, Daniel Turner, Lily van der Stokker, Erika Verzutti, Bill Viola, Pae White, Beatrice Wood, Haegue Yang, and XU ZHEN®.